Setup Menus in Admin Panel

EFT Lesson 8: What is the teaching life?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

communityadmin
      Keymaster
        1. Whose teaching situation is the most similar to yours: Miguel’s, Yitzha’s, or Vicky’s? How is it similar and in what ways is it different?
        2. What advice would you give to new teachers at your school?
        3. What do you do to relax?

Post your ideas in a reply below and comment on other teachers’ ideas.

Steven Herder
        Keymaster

1. My teaching context is not really similar to these four teachers. I teach in a women’s university in Kyoto, Japan. One-third of my students each year plan to study abroad for six months or one year. The others are regular English Literature students. I have just finished my second year and so I’m still learning many things about university procedures, committee work, and especially about my students interests, abilities, and weak areas. It is challenging, but fascinating.

2. Get to know your students as much as possible. Build trust and get them working with you rather than against you. Follow the Golden Rule: Treat others as you would like them to treat you.

3. Recently, I bicycle twice a day commuting to work and that is very relaxing now that I have built up enough stamina. I also talk with friends and other teachers in Zoom, and watch Netflix too much. Tv shows in 2020 are excellent.

Vhanessa Barbosa
          Participant