April 2018 – Motivation

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

Anne Hendler
      Participant

The Teacher’s Room discussion area

Steven Herder
        Keymaster

I studied Dornyei’s book about 10 years ago. I now realise how much I bought into it at the time because most of what I do at the start of the year follows his advice. Here I have taken his first stage of motivational strategies and described thing I have done in one particular sample class.

Book Title: Motivational Strategies in the Language Classroom – Zoltan Dornyei (2001, Cambridge University Press)
          Step 1 of 4
          Create the basic motivational conditions

1. Appropriate teacher behaviors
          2. Pleasant and supportive classroom atmosphere
          3. Cohesive learner group with appropriate group norms

Appropriate teacher behaviors
          1. Authoritative Voice
          2. Move students as need be
          3. Use screen timer to control start & stop
          4. Give feedback – Eyes, Voice, Reactions
          5. Set pace, 3:30 min per round based on timing them
          6. Give advice, for example, S.A.F.E. – System – Ask Qs – Friends – English –

Pleasant and supportive classroom atmosphere
          1. Arrive early
          2. Greet students
          3. Spritz about how they are feeling
          4. Ask names relentlessly
          5. Make jokes (notice things – alert face among sleepy faces, bad sense of direction, laughs easily, make up lady, window lady, confirmation lady, leader lady, make me blush, Start! Don’t be shy, talkative lady, nicknames
          6. Warm-up for bonding – First week good and bad, club/part-time job, first class impressions easy, interesting, etc,
          7. No text until after GW

Cohesive learner group with appropriate group norms
          1. Change partners (by row and by snake)
          2. Ask “What’s your name?”
          3. Bonding by sharing childhood stories
          4. “Help each other”